Two Championship clubs have more World Cup winners than Man City as Chelsea lead the way


FFL Championship pair Middlesbrough and Fulham are among the most prolific British clubs when it comes to having World Cup-winning players on their books

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Southgate hopes to lead England at World Cup in 2022

Chelsea have had more World Cup winners represent them than any other club in England.

The Blues have seen the likes of N’Golo Kante, Peter Bonetti and Marcel Desailly win the trophy whilst plying their trade at Stamford Bridge.

When it comes to which clubs have the best World Cup pedigree with regards the number of players to have lifted football’s most coveted trophy, Chelsea have the edge.

See also  The David Alaba doubters have gone silent

A total of 15 Chelsea players have won the competition, either before or after playing for the club. Club legends Peter Bonetti and Jimmy Greaves were both members of England’s 1966 World Cup-winning squad.

Neither of them made the starting XI for the final though, which meant they didn’t pick up a winner’s medal at the time.

Marcel Desailly (left) is one of 15 Chelsea players to have lifted the World Cup

However, a campaign to get the whole squad officially recognised was successful, and in 2009 FIFA awarded them all with a winner’s medal.

But there are two teams currently plying their trade in the EFL who also feature highly on the list – Championship duo Middlesbrough and Fulham.

Boro have six winners to their name, whilst Fulham have five.

Boro’s contingent includes the likes of England’s Nobby Stiles, France’s Christian Karembeu and Spain’s Victor Valdes.

Former Middlesbrough goalkeeper Victor Valdes is one of six ex-Boro players to lift the World Cup

As for the Cottagers, players to have represented them and lifted the famous Jules Rimet trophy include George Cohen, another of the 1966 contingent, and Alphonse Areola of France.

Chelsea may have the best record in England, but on a global scale they’re a long way behind other clubs.

Juventus have had 58 World Cup winners represent them over the years, more than any club in the world.

France’s Blaise Matuidi won the 2018 tournament whilst at Juventus – the most prolific club to produce World Cup winners

Bayern Munich have the next-best record with 42 World Cup winners.

They’re followed by AC Milan with 41, Inter Milan with 38, Flamengo with 33, Roma with 31, Corinthians with 30, São Paulo with 28, and Barcelona also with 28.

British clubs with three or more WC winners

Club (Number of World Cup winners)

Chelsea (15)

Arsenal and Manchester United (13)

Liverpool (9)

Tottenham Hotspur and West Ham United (7)

Middlesbrough (6)

Everton, Fulham and Manchester City (5)

Blackburn Rovers and Stoke City (4)

Bolton Wanderers, Leeds United, Leicester City, Newcastle United and Rangers (3)

Read More

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here